A development authority that wears two hats, builder and regulator at once, cannot expect a consumer commission to accept its own in-house sign-off as proof that a housing project is actually finished. The National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission said as much in ordering the Greater Mohali Area Development Authority to go back and redo the completion certificates it had issued for its own Purab Premium Apartments project.
The order traces back to a judgment the Commission delivered on May 4, 2023, in a dispute brought by allottees of the project. That judgment had found that GMADA, acting simultaneously as the project's developer and as the statutory authority competent to certify its completion, had issued allotment letters in June 2016 without ever obtaining a valid occupation or completion certificate. The Commission directed GMADA to obtain one within 45 days and left open questions of delay compensation to be settled once that certificate was in hand.
GMADA's response, more than a year later, was to certify the project itself. On October 18, 2024, it issued two completion certificates under its own authority, Memo No. 1652 covering 19 towers and Memo No. 1654 covering 8 towers. The Purab Premium Apartments Allottees Association was not satisfied, and filed execution applications arguing that these certificates did not actually comply with what the 2023 judgment had required.
The Commission agreed with the allottees. It found that the certificates had been signed by the Chief Administrator alone, resting on administrative reports generated by GMADA's own internal technical wings rather than any independent scrutiny, and that they fell short of the 2023 judgment's standard in three concrete respects: they did not disclose the mandatory fire safety clearance, they did not disclose the mandatory environmental clearance, and they failed to record a definitive date on which the project's final works were actually completed.
That last gap matters more than a paperwork formality might suggest. Under the 2023 judgment, delay compensation for the allottees runs at six per cent simple interest, calculated against the date the project was actually completed, a date the completion certificate itself is supposed to fix. A certificate that is silent on when the final works were finished effectively leaves hundreds of allottees without a settled starting point for working out how much compensation each of them is owed, which is precisely the gap GMADA's October 2024 certificates left open.
The Commission's direction on execution was correspondingly specific. It told GMADA's Chief Administrator to critically examine the underlying technical reports rather than simply rely on them, to confirm that every item of work the project had promised was in fact complete, and to record the actual date of that completion. Fresh certificates meeting those standards are due within 30 days of GMADA receiving a certified copy of the order.
The case sits at an awkward intersection that recurs across several Indian states, where statutory development authorities such as GMADA both build and sell housing stock and simultaneously hold the regulatory power to certify that construction, fire safety and environmental requirements have been met before occupation is allowed. A private developer facing a hostile regulator at least has an arm's-length check on its own claims of completion. An authority certifying its own project has no such check unless, as happened here, the consumer forum that already found against it is prepared to look behind the certificate rather than take it at face value.
For the Purab Premium allottees, the immediate stakes are straightforward: a properly dated, properly disclosed completion certificate is what unlocks the delay compensation the 2023 judgment already promised them. For other housing projects built by development authorities acting in a similar dual capacity, the order is a signal that execution proceedings before the Commission remain open to exactly this kind of scrutiny, and that a self-issued certificate lacking fire, environmental and completion-date disclosures will not be treated as the final word on whether a project is actually done.